BBQ Salmon with Balsamic Vinegar & Red Chillies

bbq salmon marinated in balsamic and red chillies

In my humble opinion, EVERYTHING tastes better over an open flame.  Further, EVERYTHING is meant to be cooked over an open flame!  I mean, our ancestors cooked everything that way, and it worked for them, right???  I love BBQ.  Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall.  Rain, Hail, Sleet, or Snow.  There is never a bad time to fire up the ‘cue!  Best part?  You can sip a cold one while you’re at it!

I will confess, for this dish I don’t really measure my ingredients (actually, I rarely measure for any of my recipes…it’s more a food/love/smell thing for me!).  That being said, the balsamic vinegar needs to shine here, but the chillies also need to speak!  I love to serve my salmon over rice with a mixture of tomatoes/cucs/feta…throw in some fresh mint, and you’ve got magic on a plate!  A little side salad with fresh mixed greens, and boom…heaven!

BBQ SALMON WITH BALSAMIC VINEGAR & RED CHILLIES

1 Large piece of Salmon
1/4 cup Balsamic Vinegar
1/8 cup EVOO
3-4 good pinches of Red Chillies
3 Tbsp. Honey
Splash of Prosecco, if you have it

 

As with all marinades, the longer you let it sit, the more flavourful the dish.  Try for at least 30 minutes to an hour.

BBQ over medium heat until outside is crisp, and inside is still a touch rare…about 10 minutes or so per side.

Once removed, immediately squeeze fresh lemon juice on top of the fish.  To serve, plate over rice with tomatoes, cucumber, feta, and mint, and side it with a mixed green salad with EVOO and baslamic vinegar dressing.  Fresh, flavour, fantastic!

 

Mangiamo!  Let’s eat!

3 replies »

Let me know what you think!

