FLORAL DESIGN ~ Silvery White Winter Bouquet

white flower arrangement contemporary

Christmas arrangements, in our home anyways, are rarely red.  Much as I love a warm colour palette for a bouquet, I enjoy even more a winter white collection of flowers during the holiday time.  What makes a white arrangement interesting is the layering of white, from pure white up to a little silvery white.  Of course, any good arrangement should have a good dash of texture and movement as well, to make it dynamic and contemporary.

In my head, this arrangement started out with winter cabbage as the focus (which you can faintly see at the back top right of the arrangement).  I love it for its texture and colouration.  But, as is always the case with me, I fell for the out-of-season peony.  I am a firm believer that what makes any floral design magical is that element of surprise, and that unexpected flower.  Peonies in the winter time in North America are not abundant, so you will pay handsomely per stem, but they are the showiest, and prettiest, flower.  Spend the money!  Above, my pure white (delicious) peony takes centre stage, as she should!

I’ve included my favourite greenery, seeded eucalyptus, as the textural element.  Winter white berries are also scattered about…they are great visual elements in a bouquet and last a long time.  You can pull them out and add to another bouquet when the original arrangement has gone bad.  You can also use them on their own, in a little bud vase, for a small little indulgence!  Salal leaves pop out in the forefront, for additional greenery and interest, and a few other silvery white gems are added to the mix.  All in all, this bouquet was a mix up of all things white and winter, and it took centre stage in our living room in our old home a few years ago.  Beauty!

Fresh, dynamic, and elegant…all with one colour!

“I must have flowers, always and always.” ~ Claude Monet

Let me know what you think!

