FLORAL DESIGN ~ Contemporary Bouquet made of Traditional Colours

red and green contemporary christmas flowers

This was an arrangement from our Christmas Eve hors d’oeuvres party from 2010 (taken on a very old Ipod well before I knew how to take a decent photo!).  It’s an oldy but a goody!  I indulged in our Italian background that year, and embraced the traditional elements of an Italian Christmas Eve…lots of fish, pasta, all homemade of course, and a layered & colourful approach to presentation.  This was the first year I used red and green, but true to my form, I put a contemporary spin on it.

Traditional would be poinsettia, in red, and huge bunches of them.  I used parrot tulips instead.  In many loose, cascading bunches.  I threw in some deliciously pinky-red orchids for height, drama, and modernity (these were my splurge).  I then used seeded eucalyptus with a slight reddish hue to the berry for both texture and my greenery element.  To keep it fresh and modern, I used a rectangular clear vase.

Three plants.  Maximum power.  This arrangement had texture, movement, colour, and form.  It was a wonderfully contemporary take on a traditional centerpiece.  And, if I can pat myself on the back, I even slipped in Pantone’s Marsala back then!  Trendsetting 101 🙂

red and

“I must have flowers, always and always.” ~ Claude Monet

Let me know what you think!

