Planning out a Dinner Party

CAM00881

Entertaining is a delicious favourite of ours in our home, and now that we have some space to do so, I welcome it with open arms!  It’s my opportunity to treat guest like the special people that they are, to indulge them at every turn, and of course, to decorate my tabletop!

This small party is on Saturday…planning has been for weeks!  I like to ‘dry run’ the tablescape to see what works and what doesn’t – and while this table seems fairly set, there are always tweaks that occur on the day before, and in fact the day of.  These changes usually happen once I go the florist, and select the flowers for the arrangements on the table and around the house.

While the table setting seems formal, the meal is not overly so.  But I cannot resist pulling out the china, with several layers of decadence.  The green glass cups are vintage and are my grandmothers from when she was a young lady.  The silver-edged stemware is from our bridal registry.

The side salad plates are William Sonoma’s 12 Days of Christmas – these babies have EVERY colour you could ever need to decorate with.  Elegant and timeless, and totally whimsical!  I’ve used them for both salad and dessert, and either way these plates have made it into the holiday entertaining rotation and they are never leaving!

My colour scheme for the dining room this holiday season is based on Pantone’s colour of the year Radiand Orchid.  The placemats and napkins (which you don’t see) are my take on the trendy colour.  It’s a perfect holiday colour to indulge on for those of you who don’t like the traditional red Christmas/Thanksgiving theme.  The ornaments in the bowl are a nod to their 2015 colour Marsala.  The gold-rimmed bowl they rest in a hint of Strawberry Ice (also forecast in their Spring 2015 colour trends).

All in all, I’d say I’m well on my way to a delicious start to the Christmas holidays…

More pics to follow of the final scheme to follow after Saturday!

And, make sure to check out my inspiration boards on Pinterest for more colour schemes, floral arranging, and entertaining ideas!  You can also browse my website under SPARKLING SOIREES & HOLIDAYS A LA MODE and LATE BLOOMER for more samples of my tablescapes and flower arranging!

 

CAM00886  CAM00883

CAM00877

Let me know what you think!

